What I shouldn’t have done when I lost my cool at work…

heat-834468_1920Opened my mouth!


I’ve always thought that I was born in the wrong century – that I should be living in the 1800’s. You know, horse-drawn carriages, moving west, and so on. I loved the thought of everything that it entailed. Well, all but the practice of medicine, of course. Shiver I thought I could handle it all.

Then one day, one horrible day, the air conditioner went out at work. No big deal, right? I mean, it was still relatively cool inside (considering it didn’t work all that well to begin with). But then it started warming up. Really warming up!

A few weeks pass and HVAC guys tinker with it here and there, but nothing works. Now, this building I work in is pretty large. The sun’s been beaming on us like a laser , the temperature and heat index are around 96°F and there’s no air circulation inside. (Well, they are blowing warm air around with floor fans, but you can’t stand in front of them if you want to get your job done.) So, basically, you work and sweat for hours on end without relief in sight.

Eventually, you start to dislike the idea of going to work. You dread it with all your being. You know as you’re getting ready for your shift that it’s all a waste since, five minutes after you enter, you won’t resemble anything but a wilted rag doll. But what’s worse than hours spent in hot, stifling air and uncomfortably wet clothes is the claustrophobia you begin to feel. It’s terrible. I’ve never felt anything like that before. Customers are pitying us, we’re pitying us, and everyone is in gripe mode. And who could blame us? We’re hot and exhausted, and we just want to get out!

So, it shouldn’t come as a big surprise when, after about a month of this, I get into it with the boss about the air conditioner. Oh, it wasn’t a full on tantrum or anything, but I did vehemently stress, “There’re human beings in here!” and, “I won’t be coming in if it gets in the triple digits!” It’s not that anyone else wasn’t thinking along those lines, it’s just that I was dumb enough to say it to the boss. Needless to say, it wasn’t one of my finer moments.

Thankfully, the boss let it go and we’ve moved on. I will be trying to do less griping, though, because it’s pretty pointless. And it just makes me hotter.

As for the 1800’s and no air conditioning? I might have to rethink that.

Leave a Reply

